Ski NH, a statewide trade association, has named Ben Wilcox, president and general manager of Cranmore Mountain Resort as chair of its board of directors for the 2013/2014 season.


Other officers will be Roiss Bolsvert, vice president and general manager of McIntyre Ski Area as vice chair; and Greg Goddard, general manager of Gunstock, as treasurer.


Other members of the board include Jay Gamble, Mount Sunapee; Rick Kelley, Loon Mountain; Chris Elms, Bretton Woods; Kris Bomback, Pats Peak; John DeVivo, Cannon Mountain; Douyg Holler, Dartmouth Skiway; Bob Hoyt, King Pine; Fred Baybutt, Granite Gorge; and Thom Perkins, Jackson XC. 


Ski NH also presented Wayne and Sally Patenaude of Pats Peak Ski Area with the 2013 Whitney Award. The award was presented at Ski NH's Annual Meeting held at King Pine Ski Area earlier this month. The Whitney Award recognizes an individual or individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the ski and snowboard industry in New Hampshire.


The Patenaudes started Pats Peak Ski Area with family members in 1963 and the area has remained under the same family ownership for more than 50 years, making it the longest continuously operating ski area run by the same owners. Over this time the Patenaudes have been fixtures at the area and are responsible for many industry milestones.


Ski New Hampshire’s Karl Stone says the association was founded  in 1993 to enhance the promotion safety, environmental soundness, and public awareness of skiing and snowboarding in the state.


Photo: Cranmore