2 minutes reading time (459 words)

10 Athletes, Sportbuilders Named To 2014 U.S. Ski & Snowboarding Hall Of Fame Class

Kristina KoznickTen athletes and sports builders have been named to the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame and make up the Class of 2014. Induction is set for April 11, 2015 in Steamboat, Colo. at the conclusion of Skiing History Week, with a second ceremony planned Sept. 18 at the Ski Hall of Fame in Ishpeming, Mich.


Inductees include:


Curt Chase (Colo.) was a motivating force and innovator in ski instruction.for more than 40 years. He was a founder of the Professional Ski Instructors of America and a veteran of the 10th Mountain Division. He died in June.

Joe Cushing (N.H.) was a pioneer in ski area planning and design. He and Sel Hannah designed more than 400 ski areas in North American and across the world.

Chris Davenport (Colo.) is widely regarded as the world’s premier “big mountain” skier. He was the first to ski all 54 of Colorado’s 14,000 foot peaks in one year and has appeared in more than 30 ski films.

Kristina Koznick (Colo.) was an outstanding Midwest slalom skier who later won six World Cups and six national titles. She finished second twice in the season-long world Cup chase and competed in three Olympics.

John McMurtry (Colo.) was a U.S. Ski Team coach in the 1980s which saw several of its athletes win World Cup titles, Olympic medals and the U.S. Ski Team’s only Nation’s Cup Award. He later became the team’s development director and alpine director.

Ralph Miller (Kentucky) was a four event competitor in the 1950s (downhill, slalom, cross country, jumping). He set a world speed record of 109 mph in 1955 that stood for 15 years.

Ross Powers (Vt.) won the first U.S. Olympic medal in snowboarding (bronze) at the 1998 games in Nagano, Japan and was Olympic Halfpipe champion at Salt Lake City in 2002. He held every possible title in halfpipe snowboarding during his career.

Eric Schlopy (Utah) was a three-time Olympian and seven-time national champion who had one of the longest careers in U.S. Ski Team history. He was a World Pro super G champion and won bronze in the pro championships in 2003.

Dr. Robert Smith (Idaho) was a dentist turned goggle inventor whose company, Smith Optics, changed the sport forever. His thermal goggle did not fog up when used on the ski slopes. It was an innovation that continues to have impact today. He died in 2012.

Jeannie Thoren (Minn.) is regarded as the “Johnny Appleseed” of women’ skiing. She was a pioneer in developing womens-specific equipment better suited for their physique. Her popular womens ski seminars were conducted across the country for some 20 years.

Photo: Alpine racing star Kristina Koznick is one of 10 named to Hall of Fame (SkiKoz Performance Center)

Minnesota's Wild Mountain First To Open In Midwest...
Skiers In Southwest Win; Durango Resort, Arizona S...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.snocountry.com/